top of page

À PROPOS DU COMITÉ SPÉCIAL

Le Comité Spécial a été formé pour arrêter le projet de loi 96 du Québec et le projet de loi C-13 & nous continuerons à lutter pour l'égalité linguistique

Le Comité Spécial sur la politique linguistique est une organisation non partisane, à but non lucratif et dirigée par des bénévoles. Formé par des citoyens dévoués, il vise à empêcher l'adoption du projet de loi 96 au Québec et du projet de loi C-13 au Canada.

Notre lutte pour les droits linguistiques garantis par la Constitution canadienne a commencé en juin 2021. En tant que membres de la communauté anglophone du Québec, nous avons constaté être abandonnés par les principaux partis politiques de l'Assemblée législative du Québec et du Parlement fédéral. La croyance que le français était en déclin nécessitant des interventions immédiates, même au détriment des droits et libertés, était répandue, créant des citoyens de seconde zone.

C’est inacceptable et il faut faire quelque chose au niveau local. Personne ne représentait les intérêts des individus concernés par ces lois ; personne ne donnait la parole aux sans-voix. 1,25 million de Québécois anglophones devenaient apatrides; une minorité oubliée qui avait le sentiment de ne pas être la bienvenue dans sa province d'origine.

Nous avons lancé notre site Web www.ProtectOurRights.ca qui deviendra plus tard www.TheTaskForce.ca. Grâce à nos efforts, beaucoup d’autres ont pris conscience du contenu flagrant de ces projets de loi. Pourtant, les gouvernements les ont poussés à travers le processus de consultation et, finalement, le projet de loi 96 a été adopté le 21 mai 2022 par le gouvernement majoritaire de la CAQ au Québec, et le 20 juin 2023, le C-13 a reçu la sanction royale, intégrant le gouvernement du Québec. Charte de la langue française nouvellement amendée dans son préambule.

Les communautés anglophones du Québec

Qu'est-ce que tout cela signifie?

Le projet de loi 96 et l'amendement constitutionnel proposé, qui établit le Québec en tant que nation avec la langue française comme seule langue officielle et commune, conjointement avec le C-13, représentent une restructuration fondamentale de la constitution canadienne, de la politique linguistique et des droits fondamentaux de la personne. libertés.

De toute évidence, les droits linguistiques de la minorité anglophone du Québec sont attaqués, pris comme bouc émissaire sous le prétexte que le français est en déclin et a besoin d'être protégé au détriment des droits, des libertés et du respect de notre contribution à la société. En tant que communauté, nous devons riposter, et c’est ce que nous faisons.

Nos convictions

Le Groupe de travail envisage un Québec linguistiquement tolérant et inclusif où les droits et libertés constitutionnels en matière de représentation politique, d'éducation, de santé, sociaux, judiciaires et autres services gouvernementaux sont garantis par la loi à tous dans les deux langues officielles.

Notre mission

Le Comité Spécial représentera des individus, établira des partenariats avec des organisations et coordonnera des groupes sous-représentés pour plaider pour une société bilingue et s'opposer aux mesures législatives qui :

  • Ignorent ou défient les droits linguistiques inscrits dans la Constitution canadienne et la Charte québécoise des droits et libertés, OU

  • Réduisent ou entravent la vitalité et les services des communautés en raison des restrictions linguistiques.

Notre vision

Nos tactiques

Le Groupe de travail accomplira sa mission à travers :

  • Diffusion de l’information, notes d’orientation et analyses législatives

  • Communiqués de presse, engagement sur les réseaux traditionnels et sociaux

  • Tables rondes, allocutions et création de réseaux

  • Sensibilisation des élus, de la communauté et des leaders d'opinion

  • Événements, pétitions, campagnes et manifestations

  • Contestations judiciaires

Notre devise

NOUS AGISSONS!

Nous voyons de nombreuses personnes rejoignent des groupes Facebook pour discuter et se plaindre de la perte de leurs droits linguistiques. Au Groupe de travail, nous faisons plus que parler. NOUS AGISSONS! Rejoignez-nous, soutenez-nous et faites du bénévolat. Ensemble, en communauté, nous vaincrons !

Étapes importantes franchies

  • Intenté une poursuite devant la Cour supérieure du Québec contre les procureurs généraux du Québec et du Canada pour inconstitutionnalité du projet de loi 96.

  • Déposé une demande d'injonction interlocutoire pour stopper les mesures futures liées au projet de loi 96.

  • Fréquemment interviewé par les médias francophones et anglophones.

  • Publié de nombreux communiqués de presse et articles d'opinion.

  • Organisé, co-organisé et participé à de nombreux rassemblements de protestation contre le projet de loi 96.

  • Permis la collecte d'histoires sur notre site web, donnant une voix aux personnes affectées par le projet de loi 96 et recueillant des preuves pour nos affaires judiciaires.

  • Déposé un mémoire au Comité sénatorial sur le projet de loi C-13.

  • Présenté des mémoires aux audiences du QCGN sur le projet de loi 96.

  • Réalisé une publicité pour contrer la propagande de L'Impératif Français ridiculisant les anglophones du Québec.

Piliers stratégiques, priorités et projets

Se battre au tribunal

Notre principal programme est de « contester le projet de loi 96 en justice ». Nous devons donc nous concentrer sur la collecte de fonds, car sans les dons publics, nos efforts cesseront. Les poursuites judiciaires sont coûteuses: au 30 novembre 2023, nous avions dépensé plus de 100 000 $ en frais juridiques, et nous prévoyons que nos besoins dépasseront 500 000 $.

Profondeur organisationnelle

Nous continuons de grandir et travaillons sur notre infrastructure organisationnelle. Nos prochaines étapes incluent le renforcement de notre conseil d’administration avec des membres éminents pour augmenter notre nombre de membres. Nous recherchons aussi des bénévoles pour des rôles de leadership et améliorons notre infrastructure technique pour soutenir notre travail.

Campagnes de communication

Apparemment, la lutte pour restaurer les droits constitutionnels est perçue comme « politique », et de nombreux groupes préfèrent ne pas s'impliquer ou transmettre notre message, ignorant les effets de l’intolérance et des divisions linguistiques. Nous allons intensifier nos communications médiatiques, utilisant les histoires recueillies dans notre programme Racontez-nous votre histoire, pour promouvoir un Québec inclusif où les droits en matière de représentation politique, d'éducation, de santé, de services sociaux et judiciaires sont garantis dans les deux langues officielles.

Président du Comité Spécial sur la politique linguistique, Andrew Caddell

Notre président, Andrew Caddell, apporte une grande sagesse et expérience politiques pour guider notre vision et mission.

Actif dans la vie publique canadienne depuis cinq décennies, Andrew a été journaliste, conseiller ministériel, fonctionnaire et diplomate.

Il a été conseiller principal pour Affaires mondiales Canada pendant 15 ans et a travaillé avec le solliciteur général du Canada et le premier ministre de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il a rédigé des discours pour des ministres et premiers ministres, notamment Pierre Pettigrew et Paul Martin, et a contribué à la politique du Canada aux Nations Unies.

En plus de diriger le Groupe de travail et de participer aux poursuites contre le projet de loi 96, Andrew est chroniqueur pour le Hill Times d'Ottawa.

invité fréquent à l'émission Big 5 de CJAD 800 et conseiller municipal du village historique québécois de Kamouraska.

Andrew est toujours prêt à discuter amicalement d'histoire et de politique, fier des racines écossaises et barbadiennes de sa famille ainsi que de sa maison ancestrale à Kamouraska.

Andrew est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts et d'une maîtrise en journalisme de l'Université Carleton.

bottom of page

top of page

ABOUT THE TASK FORCE

The Task Force was formed to stop Quebec's Bill 96 and Canada's Bill C-13 & we will continue to fight for linguistic equality

The Task Force demonstrating against Bill 96

The Task Force on Linguistic Policy is a non-partisan, grassroots not-for-profit, volunteer-run organization originating from a group of dedicated citizens wanting to stop the enactment of Quebec's egregious, mean-spirited Bill 96 and Canada’s Bill C-13.

Our fight for the linguistic rights enshrined in Canada’s Constitution started in June of 2021. As members of Quebec’s English-speaking community, we saw we were being abandoned by the major political parties in Quebec’s legislature as well as our Federal parliament. The belief that French was in decline and immediate interventions were required was widespread, even if it meant the denial of rights and freedoms and the creation of second-class citizens.

This was unacceptable, and something had to be done at the grassroots level. No one was representing the interests of individuals affected by these laws; no one was giving a voice to the voiceless. 1.25 million Anglophone Quebecers were becoming stateless; a forgotten minority made to feel like they were not welcome in their home province.

Close up of 3 faces with an X of red tape over each mouth
Graphic of people divided by a chasm

We launched our website www.ProtectOurRights.ca which would later become  www.TheTaskForce.ca.  With our efforts, many more became aware of the egregious content of these Bills. Still, the governments rammed them through the consultation process, and in the end, Bill 96 was passed into law on May 21, 2022, by Quebec’s majority CAQ Government, and on June 20, 2023, C-13 received royal assent, incorporating Quebec’s newly amended Charter of the French Language into its preamble.

Quebec’s English Speaking Communities

Map of Quebec depicting the Anglophone population

What does all this mean?

Bill 96 and the proposed constitutional amendment, which establishes Quebec as a nation with the French language being the only official and common language, in conjunction with C-13, represent a fundamental restructuring of the Canadian constitution, language policy, and basic human rights and freedoms.

Clearly, the linguistic rights of Quebec’s Anglophone minority are under attack, scapegoated under the premise that French is in decline and needing protection at the expense of rights, freedoms, and respect for our contribution to society. As a community, we need to fight back, and that is what we do.

Our Beliefs

The Task Force envisions a linguistically tolerant and inclusive Quebec where constitutional rights and freedoms regarding political representation, education, health, social, judicial, and other government services are guaranteed in both official languages by law to everyone. 

Our Mission

The Task Force will represent individuals, partner with organizations and help coordinate under-represented groups to advocate for a bilingual society; taking action to expose and oppose legislative and other measures that:

  • Ignore, defy or disregard linguistic rights and freedoms as inscribed in the Canadian Constitution and the Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms, OR

  • Reduce or hinder the vitality of, and services for, communities because of linguistic restrictions.

Our Vision

The Task Force demonstrating against Bill 96

Our Tactics

The Task Force  will deliver its mission through:
 

  • Information dissemination, legislative and policy briefs, and analysis

  • Press releases, traditional and social media engagement

  • Roundtables, speaking engagements, and network building

  • Outreach to elected officials, community, and opinion leaders

  • Events, petitions, campaigns, and demonstrations

  • Court challenges

Our Motto

WE TAKE ACTION!

We see many people joining Facebook Groups to talk and complain about their lost linguistic rights.  At the Task Force we do more than talk.  WE TAKE ACTION!  Join us, support us, and volunteer. It is together as a community that we will prevail!

Significant Milestones Achieved

  • Launched a lawsuit in Quebec’s Superior court serving both the Attorneys General of Quebec and Canada for in unconstitutionality of Bill 96

  • Filed an Application for Interlocutory Injunction requesting the cessation of future measures related to the implementation of Bill 96 

  • Frequently interviewed by French and English media

  • Issued numerous news releases and op-eds.

  • Organized, co-organized and participated in many Bill 96 protest rallies.

  • Enabled collection of stories on our website giving a voice to those affected by Bill 96 and collecting anecdotal evidence for our court cases. 

  • Filed a brief outlining issues and concerns for the C-13 Senate Committee. 

  • Presented briefs to QCGN hearings into Bll 96 

  • Produced an advertisement to counter the propaganda being disseminated by L’Imperatif Francais ridiculing Quebec Anglophones

Arms showing thumbs up

Key Strategic Pillars, Priorities and Projects

Fighting in Court

By far, our biggest program is ‘Taking Bill 96 to Court’ and consequently our focus must be on fundraising as without public donations, our efforts will simply have to cease.   There is no contesting that lawsuits are expensive.  By November 30, 2023, we had paid over $100,000 in legal fees to support our court cases.  We expect our total needs to exceed $500,000.

Organizational Depth  

We continue to mature as an organization and are working on our organizational infrastructure.   As such, our next steps are to bolster our board with prominent members of the community with goals of growing our membership.   We will also continue to search for volunteers willing to take on leadership roles to be more present in the community.  Behind the scenes, we are also working to improve our technical infrastructure to support our work.

Communication campaigns

Apparently, restoring rights and freedoms enshrined in the Constitution is seen as being ‘political’ and so many community groups, businesses  and organizations simply do not want to get involved, take a stand or forward our message.  Many prefer instead to ignore the effect of the growing intolerance, linguistic divisiveness and hardship to many.  We therefore intend to increase our media communications to break this barrier, using the stories collected under Our Tell Us Your Story Program to get the truth out into the public domain.

Task Force on Linguistic Policy President, Andrew Caddell

Our President, Andrew Caddell brings with him a wealth of political wisdom and experience to lead us in achieving our vision and mission.

Andrew has been active in Canadian public life for five decades as a reporter, ministerial advisor, public servant, and diplomat.

Over the course of his career. he served as  a senior policy advisor for Global Affairs Canada for fifteen (15) years, with the Solicitor General of Canada and the Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador.  He has written notable speeches for Ministers and Prime Ministers, including Pierre Pettigrew and Paul Martin and was a key contributor in drafting policy regarding Canada’s policy at the United Nations.

In addition  to leading us at the Task Force and being a plaintiff in our lawsuits against Bill 96, Andrew is also a columnist for Ottawa’s Hill Times newspaper

Andrew-Caddell.jpg

a frequent guest on CJAD 800’s Big 5 program, and a town Councillor in the historic Quebec village of Kamouraska.  

Andrew is always up for a friendly chat about history and politics, priding himself of his family’s Scottish and Barbadian roots as well as his ancestral home in Kamouraska.  

Andrew holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Master's in Journalism from Carleton University.

bottom of page